Bethany Professor Recognized with National Teaching Honor

BETHANY, W.Va. – Dr. Lisa Reilly, The Goulding-Woolery Professor in Chemistry and Associate Professor of Chemistry at Bethany College, has been recognized as a national nominee in the U.S. Professors of the Year Award competition.  The program is sponsored  by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education. Reillyaward.jpg

Bethany President Dr. Scott D. Miller recently presented her with a beautiful plaque commemorating the honor. 

A joint announcement by Anthony S. Bryk, President of the Carnegie Foundation, and John Lippincott, President of C.A.S.E., stated:  “The program celebrates dedication to undergraduate teaching at higher education institutions in the United States.  Your nomination is a tribute to your years of excellent teaching and brings honor to your institution.  You have demonstrated a passion for educating, a commitment to your students and innovative instructional methods that have inspired and motivated others.” 

Dr. Reilly has received a number of awards for outstanding teaching.  Last year she was a finalist for The Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia Professor of the Year, and in 2012 she received Bethany's prestigious President's Award for Excellence in Performance.  She serves on a wide variety of campus committees and serves as advisor to the Student Government Association, Alpha Xi Delta sorority and the Gamma Sigma Epsilon Chemistry Honors Society.

Dr. Reilly has been a member of the Bethany faculty since 2008 and is currently chair of the Department of Physical and Computational Sciences.  She earned a B.S. in Chemistry from Mercyhurst College and a Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry from Oklahoma State University.