Please visit our new athletics website,

PAC Men’s Cross Country Preseason Poll/60th Anniversary Team Announced

Aug. 28 - GREENVILLE, Pa. - The Bethany College men’s cross country team was selected eighth in the 2014 Presidents' Athletic Conference preseason poll, announced the PAC on Thursday. In conjunction with the poll, the conference also announced that six former Bison men’s cross country runners were named to the PAC's 60th Anniversary Team.

In the preseason poll, Bethany collected 32 points to check in at sixth place, just missing the fifth-place spot to Thiel by six points. Saint Vincent was picked to win the league, registering 78 points to go along with six first-place votes. Finishing in a close second was Grove City, who logged three first-place votes for a total of 75 points.

Along with the poll, the conference also announced the release of the PAC Men’s Cross Country 60th Anniversary Team. A total of six Bison were named to the prestigious list. The athletes who were selected to the team included: Barry Calvert (1983), Alex Kon (1981), Phil Krasinski (1983), Marty Magg (1980), Ray McCarthy (1982) and Magnus Orre (2000).

A two-time NCAA Division III Championship qualifier (1980, 1982), Calvert (Weirton, W. Va./Weir) left his mark on the Bethany cross country program. His best appearance at the Division III Championships came in 1980 where he posted a time of 28:12. A member of the Bethany Hall of Fame (2002), Calvert also found success at the conference championships, earning all-conference recognition in both the 1981 and 1983 seasons.

Inducted into the Bethany Hall of Fame in 1993, Kon (Ambridge, Pa./Ambridge) participated in two NCAA Division III Championship events (1979-80). His best overall season occurred in 1980, where he notched a third-place finish at the Division III South/Southeast Regionals with a time of 27:59 to go along with a 26:42 in the Division III Championship meet. Earlier that season, Kon would finish fifth at the PAC Championships (26:06), earning all-conference recognition.

A two-time NCAA Division III Championship participant, Krasinski (lasdale, N.Y./Frontier Central) registered his best time in 1980, running a 28:13. In the 1982 finals, he finished with a mark of 28:40. Krasinski also did well in 1983, where finished second at the PAC Championships (25:31) en route to All-PAC honors.

A three-time NCAA Division III Championships participant (1978-80), Magg’s (Toledo, Ohio/Toledo Whitmer) best performance at the national championships came in 1979 where he finished with a time of 26:18.8. He also ran to a fifth-place finish at the 1980 Division III South/Southeast Regionals, registering a time of 27:24.

A three-time NCAA Division III Championship participant (1980, 1981, 1982), McCarthy had a successful career as a member of the Bison cross country program. Inducted in the Bethany Hall of Fame in 2001, McCarthy’s best season came in 1980. That year, he finished first at the Division III South/Southeast Regionals before capping of the season with a 78th place finish (26:42) at the national championships.

One of just two Bethany Bison to win an individual Presidents' Athletic Conference title, Orre (Boras, Sweeden) took home top honors at the 2000 PAC Championships. With the win, Orre helped the Bison capture a second-place finish with 61 points. The second-place team finish was the highest by the Bison since the 1990 season.

The 2014 version of the Bison men’s cross country program will kick off their season on Saturday, August 30 at the Muskingum Relays. The festivities are to begin at 10:00 a.m.