Please visit our new athletics website,

PAC Women's Cross Country Preseason Poll/60th Anniversary Team Announced

Aug. 28 - GREENVILLE, Pa. - The Bethany College women's cross country team was selected eighth in the 2014 Presidents' Athletic Conference preseason poll, announced the PAC on Thursday. In conjunction with the poll, the conference also announced that six former Bison women's cross country runners were named to the PAC's 60th Anniversary Team.

In the preseason poll, the Green & White collected 33 points to check in at eighth place. Grove City, who won the conference a season ago, was the clear cut favorite to win the league, garnering all 10 first-place votes on their way to 100 total points.

Along with the poll, the conference also announced the release of the PAC Women's Cross Country 60th Anniversary Team. A total of six Bison were named to the prestigious list. The athletes who were selected to the team included: Tiffany Baumgart (2003), Danielle Carey (1996), Joanna Mongelluzzo (2011), Regina Myers (1998), Mallory Roadman (2005), and Christine (Haught) Rogerson (1992).

A four-time All-PAC selection (2000-03), Baumgart (Pittsburgh, Pa./Carrick) was vital to Bethany’s success in the early 2000’s. Baumgart notched first team All-PAC accolades in 2000 and 2003, including a third-place finish (20:27.7) at the 2000 PAC Championships. She also helped lead the Bison to two second-place finishes at the PAC Championships (2000, 2003).

A two-time All-PAC performer, Carey (Advance, N.C./Taipei American) earned the recognition in both 1995 and 1996. In 1995, she finished 10th (22:04) at the conference championships en route to being named to the All-PAC second team. She followed up by finishing 10th at the 1996 PAC Championships. During those two seasons, Carey helped the Bison finish as runner-ups at the conference championships.

Mongelluzzo (Washington, Pa./Trinity) was a two-time All-PAC honoree during her time as a Bison. Mongelluzzo’s best season came in 2011, as she finished third (24:08.3) at the PAC Championships to earn All-PAC first team honors. In 2010 she recorded an eighth-place finish (21:09.66) and was honored on the All-PAC second team.

Myers (Pittsburgh, Pa./Baldwin) was a three-time All-PAC selection, earning all-conference recognition in 1996, 1997 and 1998. Her most impressive season came in 1998, where she was named the league MVP after finishing first with a time of 20:45. Myers was also instrumental in helping Bethany notch second-place finishes at both the 1996 and 1998 conference championships.

Roadman (Wellsburg, W.Va./Brooke), a two-time all-PAC honoree, had her best campaign in 2003, where she was named first team All-PAC after a second-place performance (24:36) at the conference championships. At the 2005 PAC Championships, Roadman earned a spot on the All-PAC second team after finishing eighth with a time of 24:44.

Rogerson (Wheeling, W.Va./John Marshall) garnered second team All-PAC accolades in 1992 after finishing ninth (22:36) at the conference championships. Inducted into the Bethany Hall of Fame in 2005, Rogerson also notched an 11th-place finish at the PAC Championships during the 1991 campaign.

The 2014 version of the Bison women's cross country program will kick off their season on Saturday, August 30 at the Muskingum Relays. The festivities are to begin at 10:00 a.m.