The Old Main Journal
Volume X, Number XXV An E-News Service of Bethany College May 22, 2017



Former Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate Addresses Bethany College's Class of 2017

Former majority leader of the United States Senate and U.S. Special Envoy for Middle East Peace, Senator George J. Mitchell, addressed Bethany College's 2017 graduating class as part of the institution's 177th Anniversary Commencement Weekend on Saturday, May 20, in the Dr. Fred H. Tilock Amphitheatre at the Pennington Quadrangle.





Rev. Dr. Sharon Watkins Addressed Graduates at Bethany College Baccalaureate

The Reverend Dr. Sharon Watkins, General Minister and President of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in the United States and Canada, was the featured speaker for the annual Bethany College Baccalaureate Service on Friday, May 19, at 5 p.m. at Bethany Memorial Church.



Olivia Konopka Named Oreon E. Scott Winner

Olivia Konopka of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, was announced as this year's prestigious Oreon E. Scott Award. Konopka, who completed her "perfect" college career with a double major in History and Interdisciplinary, earned double distinction on both sets of comprehensive exams. She was presented with the award at this year's 2017 Commencement ceremony. The Oreon E. Scott Award is given annually to the senior graduating with the highest academic standing. (Photo by: Todd Jones '85, jonesing for a photo)


Spanish Club Participates with Delta Tau Delta Fraternity in JDRF's "Walk for a Cure"

The Bethany College Spanish Club, led by new Club President, Alyssa Hill, together with Club Members, Camila Cuevas, Jean-Carlo Tejeda, and Club Advisor, Dr. Joseph B. Lovano, participated with the Delta Tau Delta Fraternity, led by Charles Crate, in the JDRF (Juvenile Diabetes Research Fund) "Walk for a Cure" this past Saturday, May 13, at the Bethany College Track and Recreational Center. This very important and successful event was attended and enjoyed by many families, adults and children from around the Upper Ohio Valley.   

World Languages & Cultures Section holds "7th Annual Induction Ceremony

Bethany College's World Language & Cultures Section celebrated its Seventh Annual Induction Ceremony this past Tuesday, May 9, at 7:00 p.m. in Morlan Lounge. Dr. Joseph B. Lovano, Professor of Spanish & Italian, inducted Mackenzie Bosley and Laura Shephard into Bethany's Kappa Xi Chapter of Sigma Delta Pi (the National Spanish Honor Society). Dr. Harald Menz, Professor of German, inducted Michaela Ross and Jacob Stemmerich into Bethany's Lamda Omicron Chapter of Delta Phi Alpha (the National German Honor Society). During the ceremony, each student became lifetime members of their respective Honoraries, and also received an Honor's pin, certificate, and honor cord.

Students Take a Study Break for Moonbeam Breakfast

The highly anticipated Moonbeam Breakfast was held Monday, May 15, in the Ogden Dining Hall. The breakfast gives students a break from studying for fall semester finals to enjoy breakfast served by faculty and staff. The Student Activities Council, which sponsored the event along with Chartwells Food Service, offered a variety of activities including aqua massages and watching Bethany's first-ever late night show, Bethany After Dark.

The Old Main Journal to Take Summer Break

The Old Main Journal will go on a summer hiatus. The Old Main Journal will resume its regular publication schedule on August 25. We wish all of our readers a joyous summer season!



Bethany College Celebrates Alumni Weekend

Bethany College celebrated Alumni Weekend on May 5-7 with a weekend slated with activities. This year, Lee Smedley ‘72 and Dean Sparks’75 were recognized with the Community Service Award, and Dr. Dean Haubrich ’64 and Thomas Miller ’77 received the Alumni Achievement Award.

Dr. Tamara Nichols Rodenberg, President of the College, welcomed and thanked the achieved alumni for their success and devotion to their Alma Mater. Classes celebrating reunion years included: 1947, 1952, 1957, 1962, 1967, 1972 and 1977. To learn more about this year's winners, click here.

Bethany College Celebrates 1933 Society Induction

The first reception of the 1933 Society was held on Friday, May 12, in the Robert L. Martin Academic Parlour. The newest alumni organization was established as an opportunity to connect alumni who share the honor of distinction and an interest in Bethany's tradition of academic excellence. Those in attendance received a special coin, and graduating seniors of the 2017 who received distinction were honored.

Alumnus Honored With Housing Pioneer Award

Jefferey Woda, a 1987 Bethany graduate, was awarded the Housing Pioneer Award at the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency’s biennial Housing Forum on May 12. This achievement honors those who are leaders in expanding the availability of affordable housing in Pennsylvania.

Bethany Alumna Published Book and Celebrates Ordination

Elizabeth Penfield Stone, a 1980 Bethany graduate, was ordained to the ministry and Sacrament in the Presbyterian Church. Rev. Stone currently serves in Bradley Presbyterian Church in Bradley, West Virginia, and has co-authored a book with her daughter Erin Stone. The Book, Valley of the Shadow, published in 2014, talks about Erin’s attempted suicide in 2007. Rev. Stone currently serves as a member of the West Virginia Suicide Council and the West Virginia chapter of the American Foundation of Suicide Prevention. She also actively participates in speaking engagements and presentations regarding the topic of suicide prevention and awareness.

Bethany Alumna Named 2017 Leader Worth Following Award

Kathy Shapell, a 1987 Bethany graduate, was named the 2017 "Leader Worth Following" award. Shapell was announced for this achievement earlier this month, at the world’s largest leadership conference, Leadercast Live. The "Leader Worth Following" award is granted to a leader who has shown outstanding contributions in their organizations or community. Shapell founded the Augusta Levy Center for treating children with autism in 2005, and currently serves as Augusta Levy Executive Director. For more information on Shapell’s achievement, please click here.



Sallah-Mohammed Wins Long Jump to Highlight ECAC Track and Field Championships

Freshman Baboucar Sallah-Mohammed (Arlington, Va./Fishburne Military) captured the title in the men's long jump to lead the members of the Bethany College Track and Field team that participated at the Eastern College Athletic Conference championships hosted by Westfield College.

Woods, Gross Headline Five All-PAC Selections

Sophomore Neil Woods (Pittsburgh, Pa./North Allegheny) headlined a group of five Bison who were named to the All-Presidents' Athletic Conference (PAC) baseball teams announced the league office Tuesday afternoon.

Men's Lacrosse Places Six on All-ORLC Teams

The Bethany College men's lacrosse team featured six players on the All-Ohio River Lacrosse Conference (ORLC) teams announced Tuesday afternoon.

Bison Land Three on All-Conference Softball Teams

The Bethany College softball team had three selections to the Presidents' Athletic Conference (PAC) All-Conference teams announced Monday afternoon.

Bethany SAAC Leads PAC Schools in Money Raised for Change War

The Bethany College men's lacrosse team had its season conclude with a 22-7 loss to Saint Vincent in an Ohio River Lacrosse Conference (ORLC) contest Thursday evening at Bison Stadium.

Please visit Bethany Athletics for the most up-to-date scores and game information.