BETHANY, W.Va. – The Bethany College Greek community recognized its outstanding members and chapters during the annual Froscars awards ceremony and paid tribute to two of its members who died in a house fire.

Skylar Price, of Delta Tau Delta, received the Mitchell Sotera Greek New Member of the Year Award and Olivia Masciantoni, of Zeta Tau Alpha, received the Jordan Weaver Greek New Member of the Year Award.

More photos

The college renamed its new member awards last year in memory of Sotera and Weaver. The Bethany juniors died in a June house fire in Ohio. He was a member of the Delta Tau Delta fraternity, and she was a member of Zeta Tau Alpha sorority.

The event also welcomed the newest members of the Greek Hall of Fame: Deno P. Emili ’78, of Beta Theta Pi; Devon Gussler ’17, of Alpha Xi Delta; Jody Krzywdik ’02, of Phi Mu; Joyce Jefferson ’77, of Zeta Tau Alpha; Leann Romitti ’10, of Phi Mu; and Dr. Shawn T. Brown ’97, of Phi Kappa Tau.

Other awards:

  • Greek President of the Year: Cameron Williams, of Alpha Sigma Phi and Interfraternity Council, and Emma Gress, of Zeta Tau Alpha.
  • Philanthropy of the Year: Phi Kappa Tau’s SeriousFun Children’s Network and Zeta Tau Alpha for breast cancer education and awareness.
  • New Member Class of the Year (Fall 2021): Beta Theta Pi and Phi Mu.
  • Greek Senior Class of the Year (Spring 2022): Phi Kappa Tau and Alpha Xi Delta.
  • Greek Man of the Year: Cameron Williams, of Alpha Sigma Phi.
  • Greek Woman of the Year: Alexia Chavez-Brown, of Phi Mu.
  • Greek Adviser of the Year: Dr. Samuel Goodge, Phi Kappa Tau adviser.
  • Carol Borden Tyler Excellence in Greek Life: Paisley Travis, of Alpha Xi Delta.

Bethany College, founded in 1840, is the oldest private college in West Virginia. The Bethany experience focuses on academic excellence in the area of liberal arts and prepares students for a lifetime of work and a life of significance.