Please visit our new athletics website,

Bison Track Opens Indoor Season at YSU Icebreaker

Dec. 4 - YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – The Bethany College indoor track season officially opened as four members of the indoor teams competed at the Youngstown State University Icebreaker Meet held at the Watson and Tressel Training Site in Youngstown. The four Bison kicked off the season right, as seniors Umar Moore, Kyle Minger and Maria Jackson-McBride, as well as junior Andre Butler, combined for four top-ten finishes.

Butler (Poolesville, Md./Poolesville) raced in two events on the day, picking up two top-ten finishes on his own. The junior sprinter competed well in both the 400-meter run and the 200-meter dash.

Butler first collected an eighth-place mark out of 36 competitors in the 400, boasting the fastest time by any Division III athlete. He crossed the finish line with a time of 50.24. He added his second top-ten finish in the 200-meter dash, running the race in 22.66 seconds. The time was just .12 seconds off the Bethany school record currently held by Minger (Richmond, Ohio/Edison Local).

Running in the 800-meter for the first time in his indoor career, Minger notched a sixth-place mark out of 18 runners, notching a time of 2:01.24. Like his running mate, Butler, Minger was the first Division III runner across the finish line, trailing two runners from Division II and three DI athletes.

Looking to get back to the NCAA Indoor National Championships for the final time, Moore (Coraopolis, Pa./Moon) started his 2015-16 off on the right foot, making the finals of the long jump in a field of 34 athletes. His second jump proved to be his best, posting a jump of 21-8.75, which was good for a seventh-place finish.

On the women’s side, Jackson-McBride (Spotsylvania, Va./West Potomac) was the lone competitor for the Green & White, as she tallied a 22nd-place finish out of 58 runners with a time of 26.80.

Bethany will not be back in action until the turn of the new year as the Green & White will take their full arsenal of athletes to the Otterbein Invitational on January 16.